Our history

Our origins date back to 1993 when Atieh Bahar Consulting (www.atiehbahar.com) was founded in Tehran with returning expatriates. The initial idea was to apply professional management consultancy services to the Iranian market. However we soon realised the Iranian market in the 90s had other questions, namely for foreign companies looking to enter and partner with Iranian industries and opportunities. We soon became a one stop consulting shop on all needs relating to assisting and advising foreign companies to successfully enter and operate in the local Iranian market. Gradually as our services became better known, many Iranian companies both private and public sector became our clients.

By 2002, Atieh Bahar Consulting had over 50 staff and worked across 6 different divisions; Legal, Market Research, Public Affairs, Recruitment and HR, Market Intelligence and Strategy.

In 2002, we decided to spin off several divisions and make them separate entities. This was due to conflicting interests of our clients, ensuring ethical conduct and professionalising our deliverables. Hence, Atieh Bahar Consulting remained as a strategic and risk consultancy, Atieh Associates (www.atiehassociates.com), our law firm, Atieh Roshan Consulting (www.atiehroshan.com) our HR consultancy.

In 2007, Atieh Borna Negar (www.atiehborna.com) was created, spinning off recruitment from the HR consultancy, creating Iran’s first recruitment, selection and assessment company.

In 2007, Atieh Paydar (www.atiehpaydar.com) was also created, outsourcing accounting and financial services.

In 2010, Atieh International GmbH (www.atiehinternational.com) was created, headquartered in Vienna, Austria. Our newest company, Atieh International centers our consulting expertise in emerging markets, such as Egypt, Iraq, Turkey and Iran. Although we are focused on the above markets, many clients ask us for services in other emerging markets where we have a network of associates.

We have learnt a great deal from our experience of working in a risky, volatile and emerging market, and it is through this learning and knowledge that we enter new emerging markets, where once again we help our clients understand uncertainty and risk, read between the lines, and identify sustainable long term solutions.